Please find information on prices and shipping below.


  1. Striking Light, Striking Dark (2015 release): Works by he poets Rainer Maria Rilke, Pablo Neruda, Sam Hamill, John Logan and the 17th century Zen-related document, Kyotaku Denki set to song accompanied by shakuhachi and various world instruments.
  2. Navarasa (2010 release): A genre bending collaboration between Christopher Yohmei (shakuhachi) and Mark Izu (acoustic bass, shô, sheng) Themes and improvisations on the Indian concepts of the nine basic human emotions.
  3. Breath Play (2007 release): Christopher Yohmei (shakuhachi) and composer/performer Byron Au Yong (piano, voice, drum, water, gong, er hu) perform a series of improvised music/sound art works that travel through intercultural, boundary-breaking, water-splashing terrain.
  4. Visionary Tones (2004 release): Christopher Yohmei’s solo shakuhachi album, a two-set CD featuring traditional shakuhachi honkyoku of the Kinko Style and contemporary pieces influenced by the spirit of honkyoku.
  5. Bamboo Voice, Human Flute (2003 release). A collaboration between Christopher Yohmei on shakuhachi and Mika Kimula on voice, featuring old and new songs from the 20th century Japan.
  6. Heart of Bamboo–Poetry and Music in the Zen Tradition (1998 release). A collaboration of shakuhachi with the reknown poet Sam Hamill reading his own work.


  1. The Shakuhachi, A Manual for Learning (Single Tone Productions , 2024). Now available on Amazon as a Kindle book at the significantly reduced price of $9.99. Originally published in 1986 by Ongaku no Tomo-sha, Japan’s leading music press, The Shakuhachi has undergone numerous editions and helped many beginner and intermediate players learn more about the instrument and how to play it. This book covers all the basic aspects of learning the shakuhachi, beginning with a chapter on bamboo and shakuhachi making, how to handle the instrument, tone production, as well as basic fingering and Kinko style ornamentation techniques. Also included in the book are a series of graduated shakuhachi practice exercises, from simple tunes to some of the lofty classical sankyoku pieces. These exercises, along with recorded examples, are also available for free download.
  2. The Single Tone—A Personal Journey into Shakuhachi Music. Now available on Amazon as a Kindle book for $9.99. This is the English translation of Christopher Yohmei’s award winning book, Shakuhachi Odyssey first published in Japanese in 2000. The Single Tone is the quintessential insider’s view of Japan’s culture and Music. Author Christopher Yohmei, a resident in Japan since 1972, writes about his experiences studying, teaching and performing the shakuhachi. He also demonstrates the universal appeal of the shakuhachi by performing it around the world: in the jungle of Guatemala, the ancient banquet halls of the Republic of Georgia, and the wind-swept Indian reservations of New Mexico.

Prices & Ordering Information

  • Striking Light, Striking Dark, $15
  • Navarasa: $15
  • Breath Play: $13
  • Visionary Tones: $25 (two CD set)
  • Bamboo Voice, Human Flute: $15
  • Heart of Bamboo: $20

Shipping Costs:

Shipping rates vary according to weight, destination and speed of delivery. Items can be shipped via regular mail or special  delivery. Please contact for rates:


PAYPAL is the best, as they will automatically convert the yen amount into your local currency. After you make your order (by e-mail), you will be sent a bill from PAYPAL. As soon as confirmation of the payment is made, your merchandise will be sent.

To Order:
Please contact Christopher Yohmei with the order and how many of each CDs or books you would like. Please enclose your mailing address and preferred method of payment (PAYPAL or personal US$ check)

One Comment

  1. […] Shop […]